• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

reels with line counters (daiwa V. okuma)

fishing addict

Question

5 answers to this question

I have an older ambassader 5500 c reel that works great for long line trolling. I even use it at night!
All you have to do is count how many times the line feeder bar goes across the reel.
Each time across it will always be a givin number of yards or feet , you just have to let out the first amount of line and measure how much line it took per feeder bar travel.
Different line will slightly vary but all in all this is a very accurate method.
After you get used to it you can feel the count with your thumb, making it even easier than staring at a digital line counter when you should be watching your depth finder or better yet watching where your going!!
<>>>>< fish on!!!

I can only speak for the Diawa Line Counters. I have 6 of the sealine 17's. I had a problem with one of them, but that was right out of the box. In my opinion they are worth the extra money if you are going to be using them. They have a good drag system and are built well.

------------------
Mille Lacs Guide Service
www.millelacsguideservice.com

fishrmn,

What measurements do you make with that. I do the same thing with a 5500CB and ABs and I was just wondering what your measurments are. I will stand behind the ambassadeurs as well. Indestructable reel if you dont want a big line counter. Can use these for other purposes if you really wanna be efficient with your cash. If anything you can buy a shakespere clip on line counter which is very accurate.

I have used both Okuma and the Daiwa line counter reels, And you definately get what you pay for when it comes to these two brands of reels.