• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Fuel Flow Gauge Opinions?

Giant_Jackpot

Question

Does anyone have any experience using the LMF 200 multi function gauge along with the fuel flow meter from Lowrance? I looked up some reviews and it seems to be a good unit but there was some question as to how well it works at idle. I figure if I troll for 4 hours and the flow meter is not reading anything then it would be a waste of money. Opinions on any other fuel flow gauges would also be helpful. I’m running a 2006 150hp Suzuki 4 stroke.

3 answers to this question

I have no experience with the Lowrance units, I do have Mercury smartcraft systems on my outboards (they came as standard equipment, I wouldn't have added them) and they work the same way as the Lowrance. These units calculate fuel consumption based on information gathered by the PCM using throttle position, load, airflow etc. not actual fuel flow, but rather mathmatical calculations from the fuel tables built into the PCM. They work very similar to the mileage computers on modern autos and trucks. I have used and installed Floscan meters on my diesel boats and installed some for others on gas inboards. These are the instruments you want for precision accurate fuel consumption info. They use an actual flow meter installed in the supply and return line, a micro-processor calculates the difference in supply and return giving a very precise consumption reading. They also have a totalizer which lets you see how much fuel you have burned since you last filled the tanks. I have checked accuracy over thousands of gallons and they are really accurate to less than 1/10th of 1 percent. I think they are now making units for outboards, although depending on how you use your boat, you might just be spending money on another gadget rather than an instrument that is really needed. Do a