• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

arrow drop with broadheads?

smg04

this is my first year bow hunting and iv'e done a lot of target shooting the last few months getting ready for the season. im pretty confident shooting well up to 30 yards with my field points, im shooting easton alum gamegetter2's with my bow set at 58 lbs, but ive never shot a broadhead, my ? is what kinda drop can i expect when i screw a 3 blade head on im shooting 100grain field points so i know i should get the same grain heads, will it generally be enough of a drop that i'll have to mess with my sight pins or will i b able to just aim an inch or two higher on the killzone?

as stated, you will probably have to do a little re-sighting in with a broad head as they do fly a little different. It shouldnt be off by much.. but a few inches is not uncommon. However, there are some dont at all.. .

For me I think my broad heads were an inch low and maybe 1.5 inches left of where a field tip was at 30 yards...

Definately practice with broadheads before you go hunting. My bow shoots 6 inches lower with BH's than field points. My buddy's bow shoots right on no matter what he is using. I guess it is just the tuning of the bow. Make sure you try the heads before going out.