• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

carb problem

jimh874

Question

i have a older strikemaster mag 2000 i got used last year. long story short, i had to have someone pick it up for me, it was never started and i wasnt told the trueth about the way it ran. i found the carb had been taken apart several times when i pulled it apart the first time my self.

its a tilson single needle carb, i have just replaced everything with a fresh rebuild kit. problem is it wont start. i can play the internals of the carb to get it to run if i need to but then it wont idle.

i know the carb is clean through the jet,lines and tank. like i said, i can get it to run if i tinker with the rocker for the needle. but it refuses to run with just straight up replacing the internals and no tinkering.

i have tryed setting the meetering screw from turned all the way in to one a half turnes out and all the way up to being backed out far enough to see fuel come out around the screw. i can get the auger to run from about 1.5 to 2 turnes out from closed.

i think its called the governer screw, its screwed all the way in from when i got it. not sure what the setting is for that.

last and final thing. the choke spring for the butterfly flap. there is 2 holes in the plastic flap. when i got it the spring was not in one of the holes it was wraped around the post that goes up in to the auger. i have experimented with the spring position and it seems to work better in the hole on the left if facing the carb.

if someone has simular auger or experience with this carb? i have tryed strikemaster for assistence and some of the local small engine dealers that service these things, but all i hear is bring it in so we can look at it. dont relly have the money to that, and i would rather spend my money on either a new carb or auger.

jim

3 answers to this question