• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Searching for eyes in a highland resevoir

keeper

I am a newbie to the site and have only fished for walleyes for 2 years now. I am fishing Lake Fontana in Western N.C. and have had moderate results at finding the eyes. There are no weeds, only rock walls, rock points, and red clay points. Normally 45 degree banks. Nite crawlers/jig and trolling have done well up to end of August. After that, zip! Only caught 3 keepers on chartruese spoons last weekend at 60 feet on a rocky point. Will they go deeper and stay there? Water 63.9 degrees last Sat. What strategy can I use?

To keep it simple find out what they're eating,where they're eating, and when they're eating and try to copy that. There are lots of other factors involved but that's a start.

Walleyes will go as deep as it takes to get to their food supply as long as there is sufficent O2.

I envy you, it will be at least 6 months before I fish in 60 degree water again.

Run up the creek arms - baitfish head there as water cools and walleyes will follow. We catch walleye in very shallow water in the fall up here in MN and I'm sure you can there. Longline troll Husky jerks/Bomber long A/Rattlin Rogues or even cast. Spinner rigs should work too since you don't have to deal with weeds. I fished Fontana once and we did OK doing that. You ever try James?? That lake was better walleye water for me - don't know if it is still producing. I moved back to MN six years ago.