• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Shower floor -- pan or tile?

BigWadeS

I am remodeling our bathroom and shower and wondering what you would prefer to do. We currently have a shower floor/pan installed, but am on the fence if I wan to tile the floor or put in a new shower pan. What is everyone's experience's with either one?

I just did a neo angle shower, with a pan from teh store, but tiled the walls and the main br floor and the seperate tub surround and part of the wall. It worked pretty well, but I am no pro, and I thought it was rather easy. Messy, but easy smile

If you do it that way, put a rug on the pan, then tape poly over it before you start to help keep mortar/grout or dropped tiles hit the pan.

Also, I made a mortar bed under the glass pan, to make it more sturdy, and it made a night and day difference over our last pan, which they didn't do that too. It is solid as concrete.

Good luck.

Actually, a properly constructed tile shower pan will NEVER let water out...the grout has nothing to do with it. It's all in the PVC liner and curb/drain construction.

It will as last as you want it to if built correctly. Full tile showers add much more class than a fiberglass shower pan. Are you confident to do one yourself? There is plenty of information out there on how to do one properly, if you don't want to tackle it, then get a fiberglass.

Good, the biggest problem areas that I run into are the drain and the curb, especially the curb/wall intersection, failure to use pre-made PVC corners sovent welded to the actual liner and nailing/screwing thru the liner on the top or inside of the curb is another big no-no. Pre-slope then liner then final mortar bed is a very good idea as well...

Good luck!

Hey BidWade$ -

Sorry, Haven't checked in here for awhile. Here's what we did (to the best of my memory).