• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Homemade Hashbrowns

OK...I'm a hashbrown freak! I'm a pretty good cook, and I've tried perfecting this from scratch with fresh spuds. I have not been able to come close to making good browns. One thing I have contended with is the browning (sulfates or whatever it is) of the shredded potatoes. Rinsing them in cold water after shredding them has fixed this. I also have them sometimes turn mushy into a clump and gooey and I'm assuming this is a starch thing. I have heard that blanching them or nuking the spud initially cooks the starch and alleviates the sticky/gooey deal. I also notice a big difference between russets, reds, and yellows for starch content. Still none of what I try make a good hash-brown.

Unfortunately, I've resorted back to buying the frozen hash-browns and cooking them in a little crisco.

Can anyone recommend the following:

- Type of potatoe to use

- Method to get good hash-browns?

Thanks in advance for any help.

from cooks illustrated sept 98

Serves 4. Published September 1, 1998.

To prevent potatoes from turning brown, grate them just before cooking. For individual servings, simply divide the grated potatoes into four equal portions and reduce cooking time to 5 minutes per side. To vary flavor, add 2 tablespoons grated onion, 1 to 2 tablespoons herb of choice, or roasted garlic to taste, to the raw grated potatoes. You can also garnish the cooked hash browns with snipped chives or scallion tops just before serving.

Ingredients

1 pound high-starch potatoes such as russets or Idahos, peeled, washed, dried, grated coarse, and squeezed dry (1 1/2 cups loosely packed grated potatoes)

1/4 teaspoon table salt

Ground black pepper

1 tablespoon butter

Instructions

1. Toss fully dried grated potatoes with salt and pepper in a medium bowl.