• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Alaskan brown bear hunt- archery

I'd like to do an Alaskan brown bear hunt with my bow. My preference would be to do unguided, but I've heard that's either not allowed, or very limited. I know nothing about this right now- this is my first attempt to dig up some info, so any info is appreciated. Most importantly, how much will this cost? Obviously, if I can do DIY, it'll be cheaper. If I can't do DIY, the cost will be much more, but I still have no idea how much. When are seasons for this? What areas of Alaska might I look into? Any info would be great!

Thanks,

Scoot,

As long as I have know Alaskan regs, no Non-Resident can hunt Brown Bear without a guide, with the exception of being accompanied by a relative who is a Resident.

I don't think that extended to friends but I could be wrong.

Last I read the only big game critters a Non-Resident can hunt without a guide are elk, caribou, black bear, and black tail deer. Moose used to be O.K. but that may have changed as well.

As Wanderer said, a guide is needed for Brown/Grizzly bear and dall sheep, not 100 % on the moose, but that doesn't matter for your case. I would definitely look at the Alaskan peninsula for brown bears as it is home to the largest bears in the world, and has a very high population rate.

I would recommend hunting adventure dot com (with spaces removed)as a first class outfitter. They have some great guide exclusive areas they hunt right on the coast of the Alaskan Penninsula. I worked there a couple of years ago and am going back this spring to do some fishing and help around the lodge. Also another thing to remember if hunting on the penninsula, the brown bear season alternates between spring and fall every year. Like this year the season is in the fall, and the next year it is in the spring and so forth.