• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

First time to Lake Despair

Finally taking the wife and kids (two daughter 12 and 10)up to Canada. I have been fishing the Lac Seul system for 20 years. So this will be a new experience. Any helpful tips? We will be lodging on the southern chain of lakes of the Pipestone-Clearwater system. Will be up the last week of July and will fish for 'eyes', bass, and pike. May try for trout on the big lakes.

Where will you be staying? I am on that system alot and mainly fish Pipestone. If you are staying on Clearwater, you will be travelling each day, which direction will depend on what species you are targeting that day. There are some big fish in Clearwater, but is a very difficult lake to fish. Typically you fish for walleyes on Footprint, Despair, and Jackfish. There is some good crappie down that way too. They are just starting to really take off in those lakes. The very North end of Pipestone is also good for walleye. If you are after smallies, lakers, or muskie, you will definately want to head to Pipestone. Does the camp you are staying at have any portage lakes? There are some real good lakes around if they have a boat in them.

We will be staying at Lake Despair Lodge. So from what I've read, this lake and Footprint and the Jackfish lakes are the best bet for 'eyes'. It sounds like these lakes are stained like Lac Seul. So I would assume it can be a good day bite as well. Do the fish 'eyes' tend to be in the 4-16 foot range most of the time. Also I believe that we could use the same portages to Clearwater and up to Pipestone. But may stay around the "area" lakes if fish keep the kids occupied. By the way, AWESOME lakers and crappies on your past posts.

jignrap-