• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New to Walleye fishing HELP father inlaw

raue36

My father inlaw is going to take me fishing betweeen the holidays and I have never fished for walleyes. I have done my share of fishing over the years but not for walleye. I need som advice or technique, lures ect. He is very competitive so I do not know what to use. He said I was on my own the first day then "he would babysit me to catch fish the second day".

Going in the Alexandria MN area

Thanks in advance

I'd like to see you kick tail on you father in law grin. I'm no pro but here are some tips so take it for what it is worth.

You will have most of it figured out for you in the fact that he will be with you so you will likely be out at the right time and hopefully spot. That being said you will want shiners and fathead minnows. Again he will probably provide but if not that is what you need. A couple of jigs that I have used with good success are angel eyes, moon glows, and demons. You will want them in #4 size. Usually these jigs come in glow. Get green, white, yellow for color. The old standard is a plain hook (red or black) with a sinker about 1 to 2 feet up the line from the hook with a 3 inch shiner on it. Use these with a bobber (preferably a ice buster).