• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Newbie with questions

Hey guys & gals, I am a newbie to photography, I got rid of my point and shoot and bought a lil nicer camera to learn on. It is the Fuji s1000fd, 10 mp. There is an auto setting, m, a,s,p,n,sp1,sp2,panaramic settings also. My questions are about exposure and shutter speed. I've read some of the other posts and it's like you are speaking Greek to me (nothing against Greeks of course). I was on the beach in Florida and took some pics...I had it on auto first and the pics came up real dark, flipped modes and such and I finally figured out something that looked good. But I have no clue. Can you guys give me any advice...I consider myself fairly intelligent but maybe you could tell me in the simplist terms possible. Thanks in advance.

Yep. The best advice I can give you is to master the interlocking nature of shutter speed, aperture and iso and to experiment, experiment, experiment.

That may sound like a lot of work, but really it's a lot of fun. It's not the destination, it's the journey.

I just recently got the same camera and am just as lost as you,

went from a point and shoot as well, I have had some trouble with the auto settings on it though, for some reason it is suppose to auto focus and it doesn't, sometimes it will pick up the object ment to be in focus and highlight it with the lil square and then it will be fine, but tring to get that lil box to pop up on the object has been a challenge on its own lol.

I feel so silly when a normal easy shot turns out blurry. I really haven't messed with any settings until I know more about it.

Steve thanks for posting about that sticky, I didn't see it and was a great read.