• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What is a Quick-Strike Rig?

Craigums

It's a wire harness set-up with a couple trebles on it basically, designed for tip-ups and bobber type presentations. The whole point is being able to set the hook as soon as the fish hits the bait, as the two trebs will give you a hook-up.

Minn law gets a little tricky, two hooks consitiutes a "lure" so the beads or a small blade need to be added to make it legal and meet the "lure" specs.

I've started making my own, pretty easy really. #27 or #30 seven-strand, pack of treble hooks and swivels, couple blades, shrink tubing and you're ready.

Here's an example:

quick-strike-rig.jpg

I've been using them for thirty years and called them an upgrade kit. I purchase 6 inch leaders in#30 and 12 inch in #30-80. I take a split ring and put a spinerblade on the front swivel of the 12 inch. Then I use 4/0 kahle style hook on the bottom snap. I then add the 6 inch leader to the bottom of the twelve inch and close it up. Put the kahle on so hook faces up and add the 6 inch second and the rig will ride truer. I put a small trebble on the back of the six inche. Add a sucker and an appropriately sized rubber core and heave it over the side and wait for the upgrade.

I usually have all the components in my bag already for use in other kinds of fishing. The leader with the spinner has paid off for me as an attractor when trolling crankbaits for pike as well.

Tube jig hooks with the weight molded on the hook work well for the front hook too. No split shot needed to keep the sucker down. I like a single hook for the front. It seems to snag on the bottom less and has less chance of snaging on the net on the way in.