• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Total Newbee to Ice Fishing

PTocko

Okay - I am taking the leap and getting into ice fishing. Went to the ice fishing show with idea of getting some stuff to get started and basically got overwhelmed. In the end I got brain lock and ended up buying very little. I need some help on setting priorities on what I need versus what would be nice. I am on budget (say $500 with maybe a little wiggle room). I did pick up two rods from thorne bros with two small reels as my sumnmer reels are all too big. Here is what I'm thinking but please help - I did not realize there were so many options. Very cool to see but at the same time a little overwhelming to the newbee.

1) Rods / reels - covered

2) Tackle - have a lot of small jigs, spoons etc that I think I can use to get started.

3) Auger - have access to s strikemaster something or another. My brother-in-law is willing to sell me a new in the box one for $250 he won - said it retailed around $400. All I know is it is an 8 1/4" hole which he said is adequate.

Here is where it gets tricky

4) Electronics - I have a Lowrance 522 which I will probably convert for use on the ice. Thorne Bros said they could supply everything for around a $150.

5) Shelter - This is where I got blown away. I looked at everything at the show and came away confused with what (if anything) to get.