• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Balsam and Deer Lake reports

I didn't fish Balsam today, but three of my friends did. They went to a different lake first and ended up on Balsam in the afternoon. The gills were running nice after some sorting. Two of em limited out. I plan on hitting it on Monday if that cotton-pickin warm front they promised us ever gets here.

Thanks for the reply. I am new to ice fishing in the Balsam Lake area and I have only fished the area in the winter three times. It's a little different game than the lakes here in Iowa. As soon as the ice goes out down here, I'll be making a few trip north. I caught some really nice perch in Balsam last year.

fished Balsam today in the wind and limited out. Had to do lots of sortin but ended up with nice gills. East side. Go past the bunch of shacks through the gap by the far island. Middle of that lake portion....12 feet of water. Needed a shack though...wow was it windy.

Steve,
Are you fishing east Balsam where you go out of the small launch are by the cabins our are you out by the stumps area. I have never seen that many houses on East Balsam, I guide panfisherman on that lake and am out there 4 out 7 days sometimes. By the way how big are your gills I get my bigger ones right before sundown in 28 to 30 feet.

Just got back from Balsam. The fishing was pretty slow caught one 10 inch perch and six crappies from 10 to 12 inches. The fishing there the last month has been pretty slow, never been like that before. Caught all the fish on waxies and maggots. One thing I noticed is the crappies came through in big schools about 1 hour before sunset, witch is not normal for this lake are we starting to see a day or early bite?! Later..