• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Grouse Hunting

I am fairly new to grouse hunting and wondered how it is at this time of year? I was thinking of going out over the next few days now that deer hunting is over. Do the grouse act any differently now that it is cold out? I am sure they may get a little more skiddish now that all the deer hunters have pushed them. My pup is out another week after a barbwire incident last week pheasant hunting, but figure I can go without out her one day. I am getting cabin fever and need to get outside!

If you go way up north the grouse switch browse once the snow covers everything. If there is snow look for them high in the popplar trees just at dusk and they will be eating buds. If there is no snow they will still be eating strawberry leaves and clover leaves on the trails at dusk. If it is frozen solid look for springs and open areas of water in stream beds and you can find birds in areas that are not the tradional alder swamp poplar transition zones.

I like nothing better than a than a ten? year old clear cut of popplar that has just half the trees dieing out as they get overcrowded. You know it's the right age when every other tree is snapping as you brush it with your shoulder.

It's a great time to hunt. The snow usually isn't deep enough for the grouse to bury in and the woods is open with the leaves down for some good shooting lanes. A big snowfall will block out those shooting lanes and if you have a big one with snow piled four inches on every twig head for a protected hillside with a christmass tree farm of balsams and you can get some riding the sorm out. Hans