• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

AR-15 Scope and rings

Saw557

Hey looking for some advice on setting up my AR-15...(Rock River Predator Pursuit) Looking for a scope for predator/p-dog hunting and wondering if a 3-9x would cover it or should I go for more scope. Also was wondering what everyone is using for ring height. I have a friend with a AR and a nikkon model..? scope and the eye relief is terrible. I am new to AR's but as popular as they are I can't believe this is normal. I want mine set up right.

Thanks

I need to get new rings, I went with high and I need extra high. Burris tactical extreme extra rings is what I am going with next. I have the 3-9x40 burris fullfield 2 scope, will upgrade to the 4-12 pretty soon.....there are other one piece mounts out there as well. if you are going with rings, you will need extra high.

I would reccomend at least a 4.5-14x scope. I have a loupold mark 4 with the mil-dot reticle on my AR-15, and i was happy with it shooting prairie dogs.

I was also shooting another rifle with a 3-9x scope. the 3-9x wasn't as nice for ranges out past 250 yards. It also had a thicker crosshair though. If you go with the 3-9x, you might look for a finer crosshair...

If you are near a Cabela's you might shop in the bargain cave for a good scope, that's where i found mine. i saved a ton of money...

good luck