• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hunting untrained Springers

2springers

This year I have finally had the time to get out for some pheasant hunting. I am new to it myself but have had intentions for the last several years to get into it. I have 2 Springers, a 4 year old male and 3 year old female. They have had no formal training in the the field. They have been out once or twice and are familiar with gun noise. This year Ive been out a few times with the dogs individually. They instinctively have the desire to hunt and root for birds.

My question is what can I do as a beginner myself to refine my dog's hunting skills?

Is it all about time in the field? Keep putting them on birds and their scent?

They are well behaved and stay close by me(the female more so than the male), but I have noticed they dont seem to quarter as well as Id like, but like to run leap and bound through the grass as if it's playtime.

Any insights from you veterans?

If your dogs do not mind gunfire then you need to spend some time over birds. You dogs need experience making the connection between scent, birds, the shot and the retrieve.

Each one needs to be worked on. The trainer I used would show the dog birds, let him chase them and bring them back. He would then show the bird to the dog and place it in the grass. The dog would learn that just cause it can't see it doesn't mean its not there. Then the dog uses its nose to find the bird with the same reward at the end.

After that it went to "hunting" type situations with planted birds. This is where the game farm comes in. You should spend some time there and help your dogs make the connection.