• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

did anybody ever here of this

HARDWATER

Hey all,
I have heard of this stuff. Acctually, I am an aquatic Biology student at Bemidji State and we are in the process of doing a study on it for a fisheries management class right now. I cant remember if its Heterosporous or microsporous that we are looking at off the top of my head, but either one is bad news. We took a sample of 200 perch from Leech lake. We are finding something like +90% of the Pearch we sampled (all sizes) were infested. This is some nasty looking stuff. I would not recomend eating fish with this stuff in it. It turns the meat a real cloudy tan color when infested around the belly meat.... however you cant always tell from just looking at the fillet. Sometimes we couldnt tell if it had it until we looked at it under a scope. From my knowledge it is most common in perch but not species specific. We have taken a few samples from lake Bemidji as well and found it in perch there as well. I have seen pictures of infested fillets in bait shops now showing fisherman what to look for so keep and eye out. As far as i know not a lot is known yet about this. I would be happy to post the results of our experiment when it is finished in a month or 2 if anyone is interested?