• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

State Fair 4-H Horse show

Let me start off by reminding everyone that I am still learning! smile I was pretty disappointed in all my pictures, so I will take any advice given - including any about a faster lens. grin

I printed out the helpful hints from another thread for starters, and had to do a little adjusting based on lighting - which was very poor in my opinion. All of the photos were soft, but yet looked good on my camera screen when I zoomed in on them. Live and learn!

This is the only one I have done any PP on so far. It is typical of most of my shots. I saw a lot of barrel racing on Saturday!

2857077148_2e1afac6bd_o.jpg

fishingchicks,

It looks to me like you did a good job capturing action. Lets look at a few things. You shot at 1600 ISO, 1/100s, f5.0. You've done everything you could do to get the most out of the equipment you had!

When you start shooting fast moving things indoors you will now understand some of the limitations on your camera and lens.

More than likely the main reason so many of your pictures are soft is that you had a lot of motion blur. 1/100s just is not going to stop motion indoors! Not a whole lot you can do about it. The other thing to learn when shooting indoors is to take a shot for a custom white balance. It will be in your manual but if you need an explanation feel free to ask and we can go through the simple steps to do that.

What can you do next time, well you already alluded to one, faster glass. What you have to ask yourself is how much of this will you be doing in the future? If you have a number of years of this ahead of you it may be worth your while if this is something you want to continue to do. Invest in faster glass and a camera body that allows higher ISO.