• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Essential Crankbaits?

mr_jman

I am somewhat new to trolling cranks but have enjoyed doing it a lot this year!

Lets say I want to spend around $50 or so. What are some of the most essential or popular ones to give me a fair selection. I know firetiger and black or blue and silver seem popular (reading through the forums). I also know the X-raps seem to catch a bunch of fish. But if anyone can give me some opinions about a few really good ones... size, color, model, whatever. I just want a good selection that also can cover the entire water column.

Thanks im sure ill get a good amount of suggestions!

Then I better spend the money on that crank depth book that seems worth every penny!

I'd never chase 'eyes without at least one Shad Rap #9 in perch in the boat. Hot n' Tots in just about any color are another fav.

Recently though, I've developed a thing for Reef Runners. Haven't settled on a favorite color yet though.

shad raps #5 and #7 Silver blue orange, clown, perch and firetiger the first two are discontinued, darn you normark/ rapala. Salmo floating hornets size 4 and 5 in green tiger, red tail shiner and gold metallic orange. Jointed shad raps size 4 and 5 in red crawdad, firetiger, and bleeding hot olive.

For strickly trolling and looking to spend around $50, you will want to maximize the amount of water your selection of lures will cover and stick with provencolors.

Will just say that you could get 8 lures for that price I'm a fan on having 1 neutral color and 1 bright color of every lure, but for your price range I'll just throw out a few of my favorites

#5 Shad Rap in Hot Tiger or Perch

#7 Shad Rap in Firetiger or Black and Silver

#4 Floating Salmo Hornet in Hot perch or Gold

#5 Floating Salmo Hornet in Clown or Red Tail Shiner