• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Pups first waterfowl Season

JHays1

This is my first time training my own dog. I have a 9 month old female black lab who I am attempting to train on my own. She will be coming out to the blind with me this opener. I am pumped but a little worried about how the whole thing will play out. Anyone else gone through this experience? I have worked with her hard over the summer but I am by no means an expert.

At the same time I just want a dog that will sit in the blind with me and go bring back whatever is shot. She doesnt have to be perfect [for the 1st season anyhow wink ] but just good enough.

Any ideas suggestions for me to work on be prepared for before the big day!?

I went through the same thing three seasons ago. I brought a 9 month old chocolate lab into the blind with me. I had trained her with a frozen duck at the lake during the summer and had worked on obediance with her as well.

I think the biggest key is to have fun with the dog. Don't expect perfection. Praise, praise and more praise when things go right. She will make some mistakes but thats no big deal. The dog will learn fast and will get better with every bird you shoot. Just have fun with your buddy!

This is my first opener with my 1 year old yellow. Done all training myself and I too am a little nervous, but excited as well to take in his 1st hunting experience. Thanks for the advice for me as well.

only let it retrieve if it is dead-my labs first retrieve was a huge goose in ND it was a great moment but over the years seeing what a wonded goose will do to a dog (shes a moose now a she dosnt miss a beat when a goose is fighting for its life) but that could do some mental damage to a young pup getting smacked with those wings,pecked,kicked.