• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

TIP UP ??? FOR ALL YOU PROS

FishinMaverick

This might be a stupid ? but i am fairly new to icefishing and i am wondering how to use my tip ups correctly. info on rigging baits, hints basically anything a rookie like me needs to know.
Thanks in advance.
P.S. i have some frabill thermal tip ups and also use some cheap berkely tip ups

------------------
no-no boys there's two O's in goose!

First thing to do is to sell the Berkley tip-ups at the next garage sale. That's what I did. Set out your tip-up in an area that you think might be holding fish but don't want to waste too much time on. Spool black dacron on the reel and slide on a bobber knot and then tie in a small swivel and then a three or four foot mono leader. The knot will help you mark the depth and you won't need to check it every time you put a bait back down the hole. I like to use a small colored jighead with minnows but you can also use a plain or colored hook. If you're fishing for walleyes with minnows let them run after they trip the flag until they stop and then start to run again before setting the hook. Hope that helps.

Ron Anlauf

For pike, I use a Invisi-leader tied to braid and a 1/0 or a 2/0 bait holder hook. Add a split shot or two about a foot or two above the leader. Set the depth at half to 1/3 from the bottom of the depth of the water you are fishing.

I spool my thermal tip-ups with 20# plactic coated tip-up line,(this line is very easy to handle and does not get knotted up easily
when you pull in the fish), next tie on a small swivel,add around 3' to 5' of 8# mono and tie on the hook or small jig you want.