• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Liquid Crystal Depth Finder Question

eglleftcoast

Okay, so we are in the preparing stages for our annual fly in trip into Northern Ontario. My buddy and I have been doing this now for 30 years. As one might guess over the years we have added all the latest technology to help us find the trophy fish.

The problem we have is with our liquid crystal depth finders. Typically we have two guys in a 14 foot aluminum boat. We both have liquid crystal depth finders with both transducers attached to the stern of the boat. At some point in the day while trolling one or both depth finders lose contact with the bottom and start giving false depth readings. The only way to fix the problem is to turn off the unit, wait a few seconds and turn it back on, only for it to happen again a little later.

One of the guys in the group claims that the problem is that the transducer cone angles are over lapping one another and this causes the problem. Anybody know for sure the cause? Anybody have a solution to the problem? We have tried moving one of the transducers more forward on the boat but this is difficult due to the design of the boat.

One would think that Lowrance or someone would have developed some sort of transducer that would allow multiply display units to be attached to it if this was the problem. I can’t believe we are the only group going to Canada with two guys both having depth finders in one boat that have this problem and no one has developed a solution to the problem....