• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Question...Still learning to ice fish

Mongro02

Everyone always says..."Find the weedlines, hard bottom, rocky bottom, etc"

How do you find a weedlines, and what the bottom looks like through the ice...what do you look for?

How can you tell if there are even weeds and such under the ice?

[This message has been edited by Mongro02 (edited 01-20-2004).]

Well, my friend, I'm no expert, but the best way of knowing where structure is on a given lake is to find a topical map of the lake. It will most often show you the bottom structures, depths and weedlines. You can usually buy maps or you can try the MN DNR site. Good luck!

I am also no expert but getting to fish three or four days a week this year has helped me learn a lot. THree main things have helped my success. FIrst of all i started using the lake maps. YOU can find small lake contour maps for MN and ND very easily on their DNR websites. dont know about otehr states though. second of all buy a vexilar. It can save time drilling holes if you get clear ice which you can read right through and it will even more importantly let you see fish. Never have had second thoughts about buying mine. third of all, keep using FM. it is immensely powerful
good luck,
and if need a fishing buddy if ever in fargo area let me know.

gophish.

Well, I use the Sportsman's Connection maps...but they don't show much.

Just water depths and Emergent Vegetation, Submergent Vegetation, and Floating Vegetation...I don't even know what those mean. And some rocks...I guess I need to buy better maps then.

The lake finder feature on the Minnesota DNR Web site gives you not only lake maps, but a written description of the fishery, including the general weed type and depth of weedlines.