• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Pflueger Patriarch

NCLaker

Seriously considering this reel. Does anyone have any feedback on the performance of the Patriarch?

Love the feel, look, and size of the reel. I am most interested in backlash control. If I am going to spend $200 on a reel I don't want to have to mess around with alot of adjusting/experimenting of the brakes or thumbing the spool to prevent backlashes. It has both centrifuge & magnetic brakes, but I am a little skeptical of having to mess with both.

This is my first year committing to learning baitcasters, I have been using a Pflueger President (centrifuge brakes) that I feel pretty comfortable with. I am looking to upgrade and add another to the collection.

If I am going to spend $200 on a reel I don't want to have to mess around with alot of adjusting/experimenting of the brakes or thumbing the spool to prevent backlashes.

Never used this reel, but if you don't want to thumb the spool, don't buy a baitcaster!

Thumbing the spool to stop it at the end of the cast I don't mind. It is having to use my thumb to manage spool speed when the line is going out to prevent backlash I am still learning how to do effectively. I figure as I get more experienced I will get better at managing spool speed with my thumb to prevent backlash. But until I get more proficient, I would prefer to get a reel that will help me with this learning curve (without having to pay too much of a penalty in casting distance by having to turn up the breaks too much).

I really like using BCs with larger lures and bringing in bigger fish - but don't want to quit trying just because it is hard to learn how to use wink