• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Setting the hook on a spin reel

JimBuck

I'm fairly new to the world of catfishing and had a question in regards to setting the hook and letting the fish take the bait. I've been out a few times now and I've been having problems with hooking up on runs. From what I understand, once a fish takes the bait you should let them run with it for a bit before setting thew hook. This kind of thinking makes sense to me if I was using a baitcast/clicker, but I don't understand how this translates into the spincast world. Do I loosen the drag substantially to let them run? Keep an open spool? Reverse? I'm curious what other spincast fisherman do to allow this process of letting the fish run before settting the hook. Thanks everyone!

If using live bait I will let them run for a bit if I am using larger bait, I just flip open the bail then after it takes some line I close the barrel and giver er the berries!

A lot of guys have spinning reels with bait runners. That helps a lot in the setting up the hook set.

If you don't have a clicker or bait runner you can do one of three things.

-Loosen your drag and then when you get hit, tighten the drag before setting the hook. Easier said than done.

-Free spool it. Works fine if you pay close attention, much harder in the dark.

-Tight line it. This would be my choice. When the fish hits, pick up the rod and move it towards the fish to create a bow or slack in your line. Then feel for the fish while slowly tightening up the line. Once you feel the fish, give em the business.

Letting the fish run IMO is not needed in the majority of pick ups. By default in some locations you do not have a choice (one way or the other)grin

Good Luck

OR.........tight line and circle hook if they are running hard out of the gate with it.