• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Ouch! Some Advice

wildcatcreek

I'm relatively new to the catfishing arena, and I'd like to know how you guys handle catfish. Whenever I hold a catfish for a snapshot, I usually hold it with my thumb in it's mouth, and my other hand holding it's belly. On my last occasion, I had ahold of one that was about 2-3 lbs. While I was posing for a pic, it bit down on my thumb with very surprising force. For a split second, I thought it was going to smash my thumb in. Then to make matters worse, it didn't let go for about 10 seconds. I had no idea catfish jaws were that powerful. I do not want that to happen again. Could you guys give me some pointers on better ways to hold catfish without getting bitten? Thanks for your time.

I always put my hand under the gill plate. Be careful you don't want to hurt them but it works well for pictures but if i do not want a pic then i grab them behing the head if they are only 2-3lbs. Just gotta remember to not hurt the fish, mayne in 10 years that fish could be your trophy

I tried being a tough guy the last Moore's contest. They all yelled at me not to do it and for my stupidity I have a nice scar on my thumb now.

Do as they say and I would also add maybe keeping it on the bottom of the boat until you are ready for the picture. Channels aren't very patient and that tail has a lot of strength in it to. Combine that with channel lube and you have the potential to drop and injure the fish or get Manny slapped!

lipped the first channel I ever caught... length in the high 20's to 30ish for size perspective.

that was also the LAST channel I ever lipped!

I'll manhandle them about the pectoral fins, and the tail too if the're large enough.