• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

A story

Ice-9

Gentlemen:

Below are the first several paragraphs of an ice-fishing short story I'm writing. I'm fairly new to ice fishing, so I'd like a little feedback, especially on the technicalities and particulars. I'm not sure how to, or even if I can, post an MS Word file here so if you'd like to read the remainder of the story (6800 words, 10 pages) e-mail me and I'll send it along.

thanks

Ice-9 (Dave)
[email protected]

Early Ice

Three full-sized pickups with ATV trailers nearly filled the small parking area by the access. The trucks were parked at proprietary angles, jammed arrogantly up into the snow, inconveniencing all but themselves. There were tire signs of half a dozen more vehicles come and gone, but Gary Teller was the only new arrival to curse the rude behavior, and to anticipate that it wasn’t over. Men who would park their trucks in this way, and drive four-wheelers on marginal, rink-slick first ice, would probably throw a wide wake of bad behavior. The lake wasn’t that big.
Gary’s main hope was that they would soon leave. Center Lake had a mediocre reputation for walleyes, even at first ice, and an even worse reputation for a night bite. Gary knew because the reputation was mainly his doing. Most people left after the crappies were done, by 8:30 or so. It was just rounding 9 PM.