• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Mosquito Control

huntingislife

I've done the spray thing with the hook-up to the garden hose and it seems to work for a short spell. If you plan on being out it does help but my experience with the products is that it is not the complete fix.

you may want to try to call the Metropolitan Mosquito Control District- I'm not sure if they will do spot treats out as far as Oak Grove... But it's definitely worth asking.

I worked as a Field Inspector for 4 summers, they can be contacted per the info below.

Contact

Metropolitan Mosquito Control District

Metro Counties Government Center

2099 University Ave. W.

St. Paul, MN 55104-7646

Telephone: 651-645-9149

Fax: 651-645-3246

Email: [email protected]

Metropolitan Mosquito Control District

They are a publicly funded organization, almost exclusively via property taxes. When I last worked for them in 2001, I think the tax rate was something like about 4 bucks per 100K home value.

for doing my own treatments, I've had the best luck using a combination of 2 products, first a barrier spray, with a longer residual, active ingredient Permethrin; followed by a fast kill fogger treatment- I use one of the propane fired foggers, with an active ingredient of Resmethrin. this has a residual of about 20 mins.

Yes, I'm still somewhat of a mosquito nerd, but it's come in handy over the years cool

Hey Grant,

I too worked for MMCD, but as a research assistant back in '90-'95. Learned a ton about the little pests smile I was going to reply exactly as you did, with those control materials. I would add that you want to use the resmethrin during the day, when the skeeters are resting in the vegetation, and usually if there is a slight hint of a breeze to move it through the brush to kill them over more space smile