• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

a basic list of plastics

norma

I am new to bass fishing. Been fishing for walleye and crappie for 30+ years. Never had a yearning to fish for bass. Well, that has changed, I have been catching them quite a bit while crappie fishing on Big Marine. And I finaly noticed that bass are a lot of fun to catch! I have plenty of crankbaits, some spinnerbaits, Lots of jigs, but when it comes to plactics, if it aint a 1 1/2 to 3" grub, I don't have it. Could one of you savvy bass fishermen out there please give me a basic list of plastics to stock, and some basic colors as well.

For a rod I plan to use either my jiging rod, 6'3" St Croix Avid med w/xfast tip and a Shimano Solas with 8 lb mono, or my bottom bouncer rod, a Shimano Compre 7' med w/ fast tip and a ABU Pro Max with 15lb power pro. Will these work well or do I want something with slower action like my slip bobber or crankbait rod?

A few packages of senko style baits, both 4 & 5 inch sizes, in a couple of colors, green pumpkin, black, white. Some tubes in both 3 & 4 inch sizes, dark and light colors. A few creature style baits, brushhogs, 4 & 5 inch. Some worm hooks, 3/0 - 5/0. Your bigger live bait hooks should be fine for wacky rigging some senko's. Bullet weights, 1/8th to 1/4. Some fire line and you should be set for the basics. Plastics have a way of sneaking up on you, before you know it you end up with hundreds if not thousands of pieces. Avoid impulse buying at all costs, or you will end up like the rest of us with unopened packages stuck in boxes, corners and who knows where else, with no idea where or why you bought them.

norma,

I think the rods you have right now should work pretty well for any type of plastics. As for a basic list, I would suggest the following:

Senkos (soft plastic stickbaits)

Tubes

Ribbontail Worms