• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Looking to buy my first portable

HuskersRule

Hi Everybody,

I'm new to ice fishing. I'm looking to buy my first portable. I like the Frabill Solo Ranger. Does anybody have any recommendations for a 1 person portable?

I'm getting a lot of good tips from this forum. Thanks!

welcome huskersrule to fm. asking which to buy is like asking which car to buy. dont have any input on the ranger, but i believe you get what you pay for.my choice is the otter. unless you are walking and pulling the shack, why not go allitle bigger and have room to move around in it? course i think the otter magnum is perfect for one person, and if i have company, no problem.

I assume that you some connection to Nebraska from your username. I lived in big red country myself for a few years, so I am happy to help.
As to the portable, I just purchased the Otter Den and I will be fishing out of it this weekend for the first time. I will let you know what I find out. I also have a suitcase style cabelas kit house that I use when I fish with another person. It is good for the price, but a bit cumbersome if you are looking for a house that is easy to move.

Yes, I'm from Nebraska originally Blair to be exact. I moved to MN in 1979 for work.

I looked at Fleet Farm and I also liked the Eskimo Quick flip II deluxe.

I'll be interested to see how you like your portable and how you did.

Nice to hear from a fellow husker.

Hey Husker. Just to add ANOTHER option into the mix, check out Canvas Craft in Anoka. They also make canvas covers for Otter sleds. They also have one I saw at the ice show, the canvas is quilted, looked like it would be awfully warm. As far as size I don't think you could go wrong with a two man, nice and roomy for one and if you get someone to go with you then bonus.

A ZEN MASTER

Huskers,