• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hand Drills/Augers size

buzbunni

It's 1:30am, I'm unemployed, I'm fantasizing about all the ice fishing gear I can't afford, and I'm cruisin' the FM ICELeaders forum page...ahhhh, life is good. How can I post a decent question? The previous topics cover more than I could even imagine. I've been perusing FM for four months; if I don't post something I'll never get to know ya'll. Thanks to everybody (esp. the MN Prostaff) for your willingness to share information. The best. To all you who are guides (oh Dennis...man do I want a ride on that RiverPro!), I hope to be utilizing your services as much as possible in the future...once I have a paycheck coming in smile.gif. Allright, too much babbling (typical for me!) Here's the question: I'm a gittin' me a hand auger. What diameter would serve me best, ie., a good balance between what I hope is coming thru that hole, and the sweat it's gonna cost me to drill it. I've heard there is quite a difference in effort required between the 5 and 6" drills. Thanks. Ready or not, here I am...

------------------
SERIOUSLY, it was THIS big!

Welcome to Fm. 7" is as small as I'd like to go. 5" or 6" will work but you'll bump more fish off too. I bought my 7" Mora in 1977 and I have 2 sets of blades. The 7" that came with it and a set of 8".
Just a guess but I'm sure I've drilled thousands of hole with that auger and original blades. I sharpen them myself.
If I had to go out and buy an other hand auger it would be the 7" Mora, yes I tried Lazer augers.