• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Calling?

Bassboy1645

Hi yall, im new to this turkey hting kinda of but it will be my second season if im around this spring. I know the best way to practice is go in the woods no weapon and just call. But how early can I do this?? Are the turkeys goign to respond and or come in ealry to mid march or is that too soon?? Also does everyone just sit in a known spot and call or do you walk around and call until you get a response and then figure out your plan?? I didnt even apply but because of school I wont have time until the last 2 over the counter bow seasons. Thanks for you help! grin.gif

This kind of practice does work but I highly recommend against it, unless you have alot of hunting area. Calling before season can really educate the toms in your area and could actully hurt your chances. It might be allright if you do some calling a few weeks before you actually plan on hunting but I wouldn't do alot of it. As for hunting techniques your best chances would be locating the toms well before they get off their roost and setting up on them. You can even locate them the night before with a coyote howl or owl call.

Good luck this spring!

I would agree that it's not a good idea to call much in your hunting area. Best bet is to practice with a video or possibly even some domestic birds if that's a possibility.

I also know of several flocks that are in areas that aren't huntable, so sometimes I'll talk to them for practice.

As far as your question about moving or sitting in one spot, that is a good question and everyone seems to have their own preference.