• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

I need a new auger...HELP ME!!

Coach1310

Okay, after drilling over 80 holes this weekend in 30" of ice, it is time for a new auger. I have a single blade Strikemaster that has drilled 1000's of holes and I am tired(from having to put so much pressure on it) of it and am looking at an auger that will take some of the work out of drilling. I am a run and gun fisherman, so I drill lots of holes each time out. My biggest wants are something reliable, something that cuts well and that will last me a long while. I am not to concerned about how much it weighs and don't care what brand. I would probably get an 8"! Thanks for your help!

I gotta go along with Cliff here from testing a Nils this year . The Nils just seems to beg for more ice and to drill another hole . Light and fast it is and will try and pull you down the hole and absolutely no down pressure is needed . It's never let me down with starting either and I just leave it in my truck and if it's 30 below or more out it just sparks right up and pants with enthusiasm looking to drill a hole and keep on drilling more . Reminds of my top retrievers I've owned in the past ....go.go,go ,more ,more,more . Come on dad ,lets go . grin.gif

Drawback . Well I lost a big laker on the weekend with the 8 inch hole as it just kept jamming its head up but heah next round I may drill a couple overlapping ones . wink.gif

TD

Well if I had the money for a new auger I'd probably go with a nils,BUT I also have a strikemaster and just bought a 8" lazer shaft with extra blades and blade cover from D-rock for a $104.00 (about the best deal ever) they were from the gull lake tourny and what a difference, I'd let my friend get half way down then I'd pin it and easily beat him through every time grin.gif

ICE DOG 1 out