• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Augers 8" vs. 10" Pros and Cons

LCC0709

I am new to this Forum and to Ice Fishing and love it. I have everything that I need except for an Ice Auger and I am going to get one for myself very soon. The question is, What size? I don't want to spend a lot of money and have seen some 8" double edge cutters out there that have grabbed my attention.

Please help me and tell me what you think.

Thanks,

I have an 8" strikemaster lazer mag express and love it...I also have a 6" mora hand auger for early season, and every year when I switch over to the gas auger I feel like 8" is a huge hole to fish out of, until I get adjusted back to that size. IMHO 8" is plenty of hole to fish out of, I don't feel the need to swim with my minnow, so that's why I wouldn't buy a 10" smirk.gif

Personally I like the new Eskimo Z51's with the big handle to pull start with my big choppers on. Plus they are very smooth and I like the 8" augers unless your tip-up fishing, trout, or pike fishing then get a 10". I very seldom us my 10" because I'm always on the run and gunning with my portable. So think pratical and light. Good luck in your search.

-mr

I would personally go with an 8" hole vs. the 10". With the smaller hole there is room to get most fish easily through the whole. With a smaller hole your gear(tackle,flasher,etc) are less likely to find their way down your hole. You also have a little more weight involved with a 10" auger, ann 8" lazer mag is a lot lighter IMO. So unless you do a lot of pike or laker fishing I would go with a 8" auger. Its mostly a matter of personal preferance.