• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Has anyone ever heard of this and does it work????

FrontenacPike

Has anyone ever used or heard of anyone that has used a MacCoupler. It is an adaptor that allows you to fill your disposable 1lbs propane tanks from a 20lbs tank. They're main selling points is "why pay $2.00 everytime you need a tank when you can simply refill one for aproximetly .20 cents". Just wondering your guys input before I spend the $24.00 for one.

I don't believe it is illegal to refill the 1 pounders, just to transport them. Anyway, save yourself a lot of hassle and buy a 5 pound cylinder. I got sick of using 1 pounders and having the rest of them leak out after I took them off my lantern. You would be amazed at how long a 5 pounder will run a lantern without needing to be filled.

I've been using a fitting too for five years. Not sure what it is called. It worked fine, each time I can get .85-.9 lb to it (you weighs the can before and after it gets filled). I refill a can twice before throw it away.

What I am shocked over is how spendy the 5, 10, 15 lbs tanks are, WOW blush.gif Most are around $44.99, while you can get the 20 pounders for around $20 at Sams Clubs. I guess they figure convenience should cost an arm and a leg.

I just bought this about a week ago and so far it works great. You have to make sure and put the 1 lbers in the freezer first so they fill all the way though. I had to run all over St. Cloud to find one because every place was sold out of them so they must be a hot item.