• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

HELP!

mrcarp

HI I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHEN FISHING HOW LONG SHOULD I STAY IN 1 AREA. WHEN I READ MAGAZINES AND BOOKS THEY SAY TO MOVE EVERY 10 TO 15 MINUTES. I DONT HAVE A 4 WHEELER SO I CANT DO A WHOLE LAKE IN A DAY. SHOULD I MOVE TO A NEW AREA AFTER 10 HOLES OR SO I'M NEW TO THIS AND JUST WANT TO BETTER MY CHANCES THAN SITTING THERE LIKE A BUMP ON A LOG THANKS FOR ANY HELP.

I feel your pain. I have no wheeler and no flasher so its tough to know how long to work one area.

I recently bought a cheap underwater camera so I can use that to see if fish are in the area before even wetting a line. But if you don't have that tool at your disposal you'll have to do it the old fashinoed way.

What I do when I am on foot and not able to cover a large area is do a little homework before my trip out. I figure out what I am targeting and pick areas that I think or know hold those fish. I will pick an area that has as many options as possible in a small area so that if the fish are relating to a different structure I can try all of them.

But in general pick an area that you think holds fish and start drilling. Try to set up in a logical pattern, either along a weed edge with holes right along it, some in the weeds, and some just off the weeds. Or along a break, some shallow some deeper and some in between. Start in the area where you think the fish will most likely be and work that area first, if you don't get any nibbles in 10-15 minutes move to another hole that is already drilled, either move into the weeds, or away from the weeds or up or down the break. Just keep hole hoping until you start seeing/feeling some activity down there. Once you got them placed in relation to the structure you are set.