• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Shoulder problems...

cupper

Has anyone every experience shoulder problems or injuries as a result of archery? I am new to the sport, just started shooting this past week, but on one of my pulls, I felt my shoulder start to "slip" our of socket. I was pretty sore the next few days I there was some swelling. I can't understand it becuase I am young (25) and I take pretty good care of myself... I lift weights daily and I even changed my workout to prepare for shooting my bow. I don't know what would've caused something like that to happen. I am getting it checked out on Sat. I am just curious if anyone else has experienced something like this, and/or what is the recovery time for this type of thing.

Thanks!

Cupper

As trigger said...check your poundage and let off. the draw cycle should put tension on your back trapezius muscles more than your shoulder. There should be little tension in the upper arm, and shoulders should be low and level..

As a new archer, don't fall for the more poundage makes a man fallacy.

make sure your drawing your bow correctly, it hurts when you do it wrong, aim, then draw straight back using your deltoids, try not to let your elbow drop below your shoulder height(if your using a release.

(Note From Admin, Please read forum policy before posting again,Thank You.)