• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Tip up fishing

Fishing_Rookie_123_

I am brand new to ice fishing and I was wondering how everyone rigs their tip ups.

I have been using a steel leader with a treble hook hooked in the back behind the dorsal fin of a sucker minnow. I put the minnow about 6" off of the bottom about 12 feet deep on the edge of a 20 foot hole. The lake has muskie and northerns.

I have done this about 10 times now and have never gotten a bite.

Am I doing something glaringly wrong, or do I just need more patience? I'm starting to think that I should just use 2 lines inside my shelter since it would be easier and I would probably catch more fish that way, but I really want to become proficient with the tip ups.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I would recommend getting your baits up off the bottom. When spearing, pike come in 2-4 ft. under the ice all the time. Just because you are tip-up fishing doesn't mean they won't keep doing that. If I fish anything shallower than about 12 ft. for pike, I like to have it pretty shallow.

Also you don't NEED to stick to weeds. Pike like big, shallow flats where baitfish stack up and shallower rock points can be killer. My favorite way to tip-up fish early in the year is with a bunch of guys to have baits at all different depths and structure so you can see what is working best. Plus there is usually a lot more action with more flags, which helps pass the time and keeps you entertained even if your flag refuses to go vertical. Experimenting is key. Good fishing, hope you find your groove.

while on the topic. me and a few guys are going out next weekend to throw some tipups out for pike, and were gonna jig for some pannies. anyone familiar with big carnelian. is the small island a good place for such a venture?