• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Spearing (Pics)

Stiff

Hi All,

I'm very new to the whole spearing thing... or maybe not. "Bass n Spear", I wish I had met you 20 years ago. I've had interest in it for years, but never had anyone to show me the ropes. Then one day a guy was spearing but had forgotten his heater. I offered him my spare and sat in his shack with him a fair bit of the afternoon. I asked him a bunch of questions and slowly started putting the whole thing together a little at a time.

I've always loved the decoys, and my most recent curiosity is what makes a good one - what makes one swim better than another?? I think I need to try to make a few of my own. I think that might be my next step into the sport.

I have my Grandfather's old spear, which is really a pretty nice one, but the one I use is one I bought at auction. Someone made it by hand, and did a really nice job. I wish I had met th eguy so I could thank him.

I made a portable spearing shack that is really nice to fish out of - but this year with the thin ice I've been using my Otter shack because it's so much more portable. I also, joined the MN Darkhouse & Angling Association just to support the sport and try to meet a few others who know more about the tradition.

I really don't have much experience with the sport, but I really enjoy it. I went once up on Big Marine in early December this year. I wanted to get a few to pickle in time for Christmas. I was successful and the pickles came out really excellent. Several people commented that they liked them better than herring. That made me pretty happy and I sent a pint home with my father in law.