• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Heat Sensors to find deer

I was wondering if anyone has or has used a heat sensor to find out where deer are in a cattail slough or in a brush batch. And if you used it to find a wounded animal or just to find them so you know where to walk. The prices and how well they work like range and overall performance. And if you like them which kind would you suggest.

I don't know alot about this topic but...

Would this be used for scouting purposes (pre/post-season) or as a hunting tool during the season? It seems to me that it would be oe should be illegal to use as a hunting tool to locate deer/animals during the hunting season. I can understand using them to find wounded animals but beyond that I just don't know. Interesting topic.

I'm not an expert either, but I don't think they would work very well because of a deers thick coat. How many pics have you seen of deer bedded down while snow piles up on their backs. Not much heat leaves their bodies.

There are several Thermal Imaging products made which work great. Most of which are pretty pricy, you won't find them at Cabela's.... Though I am still unsure about how legal they are for citizens other than law enforcement and military.

From what I can remember of articles I have read on this subject, these devices are still very pricey - in the thousands of dollars range. I'm not sure how effective they would be on finding wounded or recently dead deer, but if they were helpful, I would say I would be okay with them being legalized. But only for tracking purposes.

Like anything, these devices will become much more cheaper in the years to come and I'm sure a debate will spring up if they become available about the potential for abuse.