• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Marcum LX5 and weeds

eurolarva

I am new to using a flasher. I got a Marcum LX5 for xmas and was fishing in 8 feet of water that had pretty heavy weed coverage about 18 inches from the bottom. I was fishing for Sunfish with an aquaview camera about 2 feet beside rigged for normal viewing (not downward). Seems no matter how I set the gain I could not distinguish from the fish and the weeds. I was using a very tiny teardrop with euro and a small sinker about 1 foot from the lure. I turned the gain up so I could see the lure and the sinker but when I saw fish in with the camera eating my lure I saw no indication on the LX5 this was happening. Any suggestions on the best way to tune the Marcum in to get rid of clutter from the weeds and give me a better view of the fish and the lure?

Was your transducer hanging straight down, not touching the side of the hole? You won't get good results if it's not pointing straight down.

Another trick you can try in shallow water is to use the narrow beam transducer (NBT).

The narrow beam should cut down the amount of weeds greatly. Then turn the gain all the way down and start to turn it up till you can just make out you jig. I know this doesn't always work but start from there and see what you get. Generally even if you don't cut the weeds out entirly you will get them to at least be a different color so that when you are jigging there is a noticable color difference between the jig and weeds.