• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What power auger to get?

TSCTSC

Can anyone here point me to the right power auger to get? I have a 5" strikemaster hand auger and realized that I can barely make more than 10 holes in one day if the ice is 10 inch thick. Should I go for Strikemasters or Nils? What about Jiffy's? I am preferring one that is light, and reliable with easy starts. Any problems with the 4 stroke strikemasters? Am looking to get one on hand by end of this week. Thanks!

The nilsmaster with the Tanaka powerhead BLOWS away any other auger as far as weight and speed with the exception of the Lazer Mag X press which is about 6 pounds heavier and cuts super fast too. They're not cheap but they're worth it. I like the nilsmaster because many days I'm drilling upwards of 100 holes in search of panfish and the light weight is critical to doing that. I don't even fish many of the holes I drill but using a nilsmaster power auger is so much fun you'll find yourself drilling extra holes for you and your buddys just for the fun of it grin.gif Put the 6" bit on the nilsmaster and you'll be shocked at how fast that mother drills wink.gif