• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Any Small Lakes Close to Grand Forks

I am a college student at UND and I am just wondering if there are any small lakes around the Grand Forks area or even on the Minnnesota side close by. I fish in central Minnesota alot and love fishing panfish and walleyes. Basically I am looking for a lake to fish that is close by. Thanks alot

1. English Coulee diversion near the trap range south of town (small perch, with a few marginal keepers, bass, pike) - only about 10 minutes from town.

2. Lake Laretta near Michigan (small perch, huge pike) - 50 miles

3. Stump Lake (south of Lakota) - drainoff from Devils Lake (I've done well here this winter on both perch and nice walleyes) - 65 miles

4. Devils Lake (Black Tiger Bay is the closest - perch, walleye and pike) - 80 miles

5. Maple Lake near Mentor, MN (nice crappies, walleye, pike) - 60 miles into MN on Highway 2.

6. Fordville Dam - 45 miles NW (walleyes, small perch)

7. Lake Ardoch - 20 miles north (small fish, but close)

8. Matejcek Dam - 55 miles NW (walleyes, small perch)

9. McVille Dam - 45 miles W (walleye)

10. Tolna Dam - 55 miles W, near Stump (walleye, perch)

11. Larimore Dam - 30 miles W (sunfish, bluegills, perch)

If you want to go somewhere close, go to the English Coulee. If you want to catch crappies, go to Maple Lake. If you want walleyes/perch, go to Devils or Stump. If you want pike, Devils Lake is good but a bit past that you can try Lake Irvine near Churches Ferry, Lake Morrison near Webster and Sweetwater north of Devils Lake. Lake Laretta is also pretty good and much closer (if the perch are killing me at Devils during the day and I can't take it anymore I try one of those other 3 - if I'm just going after pike, I'll do the short drive to Laretta).

Lots of options - good luck,