• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

planers, yellow birds or off shore ???

analyzer

Question

I am a novice planer board user, but I've always wanted to try them, especially when we have 4 guys trolling at the same time.

Yellow birds are about half the price of the other brand. Which do you recommend?

10 answers to this question

Offshore and Church (gary roach) are the two popular brands for trollers around here. I have 4 offshore boards, 2 set up with the tattle flags, and really like them. Only complaint I have is they're not great at holding onto Fireline, but if you give the line a double wrap before you put it in the clip it will solve the problem. I've heard the gary roach boards hold Fireline better than the Offshore boards.

If you're looking for a fun day, go trolling on Lake Pepin. Good scenery, and you can use 2 lines per person. Great spot to break out the planer boards.

Offshore boards by far. From what I have whitnessed, the balacance and track better, the cut water better at low speed, and they wont dive nearly as easy. Wrapping fireline is kind of a pain though but works. The tattle flags are a must for smaller fish but at the same time I cant get the flags to hold up with big deep cranks. If anyone has suggestions for this let me know.

My vote is for Off Shore.
One trick I have learned is to take the back clip off and add it to the front one. The fireline does not seem to break free as often this way.
mw

[This message has been edited by Mike Walerak (edited 04-01-2004).]

I havnt tried any others but I have the offshore boards and have no complaints.I think you can purchase stronger clamps for them also if you run superline.Also the spring in the clamp is made to slide back and forth for more or less tension.