• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

GPS ?

Lockman

Question

I want to buy a new GPS,been debating between the Garmin Etrex Legend and the Cobra 100 wass traxis.Is anyone familiar with either of these units(likes or dislikes)or have any other suggestions on a unit you prefer?I would prefer something in the $150.00-$225.00 range.

13 answers to this question

pretty tough to beat a garmin I have been using one for 10 years now and have never had any problem with any of them right now I have a map 76 handheld and a 182 in the boat they are user friendly for sure

I have the Etrex Legend and couldn't be happier with it. It's nice that it comes loaded with all the map data that it does. Search the web and you can find a pretty good deal on them. My friend has the model below the Legend, and gripes that it doesn't have the software that the etrex comes with. Hard to beat a Garmin.

------------------
Takin it easy! & if it’s easy, I’ll take it twice!

I've used the garmin legend for about a year and have been very happy with it. Small, easy to use, lots of compatible software.

Any one have any ideas on longer-life yet affordable batteries (this uses 2 AA batts)?

McGurk,

They have a cigarette lighter adapter, sell them at Fleet, Cabelas, Gander. Cheapest at Fleet & Cabelas. It's $32, but if you go through a lot of batteries, that would be the way to go. I'm getting one with my Cabelas bucks as soon as I get down there, cause most of the time I use it, I'm either in the truck or boat anyway.
Otherwise, I've just been using the cheapest bats I can find, and they don't wear out any quicker than the spendy ones.

------------------

McGurk

I use recharable Nimh batteries in my digital camera. They last a lot longer then the alkalines. They are rayovacs and the charger will charge both alkaline and nimh batteries.