• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

LX3 experts question?

walleyereaper

Question

I just picked up a new marcum and was very happy with it the first two times I used it. Then the third time I had it out it started to flutter or jitter quite a bit. What I mean by jitter is when I would adjust the gain to where my lure is a fine yellow line, the line would bounce back and forth between two or three lines up and down,and so would the red fish marks. Everything on the dial would jitter more than I can remember it doing the first two times I had it out. I tried everthing to get rid of it from adjusting the gain, raising and lowering the ducer, putting on the IR, turning it on and off. Since I am new to sonar maybe this is normal? It was very annoying and I am wondering if I have a faulty unit. I was fishing on LOW the day it gave me problems and there were no other people by me.

13 answers to this question

I have used mine at 30% power and never experienced that problem. I would contact Marcum in Monti and see what they say. There is some "bounce" if you are moving the jig quick in zoom at 20 to 40 foot settings. I have seen the same thing on Vex 18. What does the bottom look like? I would say if it is bouncing when not in zoom it must be picking up way to much interfer and I would have them fix / replace it.

Walleyereaper,since you just got the unit you might try letting it sit on the charger for 24 hours or so.On the first charge of the battery you need to let it charge for awile,after that it should only take 6-8 hours charging if you used it a full day.Hope this helps,love that lx-3,great service to.Good fishing Don grin.gif