• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

heaters

ReelTimes

Question

I'm new to ice fishing and hope someone can give me some good thoughts on heaters. I have the Mr. Heater Buddy and was using it to heat a 6 x 8 Clam 6800 portable. I was somewhat disappointed in how warm we were able to get the portable. One day it was 6 degrees above with no wind and the other aboutr 25 degrees with 20-30 mile an hour winds. It took the edge off and was much better than outside but no one was warm. Any recommendations on different heating units or something that can get the portable quite warm even on cold days? Thanks.

11 answers to this question

Buddy heaters arent good for bigger houses. They work best for small 1 or 2 man houses.
Go get a Mr. Heater Cooker. Great heat even on low and you can flip it over and warm up coffee, cook burgers in a pan, fry bacon whatever you want. Put it on a 5, 10 or 20 pound tank and its even better.

Realtimes,
The Mr. heater model:mh12t is a good unit. It should heat your portable very easily. We used to use one in our old 2 man portable and it would almost cook us out on the lowest setting.

------------------
Jimmy
Marcum

ReelTime
Another option you may want to try is to use a small battery operated fan in your house.
they sell them in the auto section of K-mart for five bucks, they use one D cell battery and will run for aproximatly 20 hours. Plastic 2blade design and quiet. Tape a string to it and hang upside down from a pole in your house and you've got good air movement. Enough to use slip bobbers and keep holes ice free. Been using them for a few years now and wouldn't do the portable house thing without it. Best 5 bucks you'll everspend for your house!

I'll put my vote in for the Mr Heater/cooker too. I have had one for many years and I wouldnt ever part with it.