• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

portable eagle fisheasy finder 2 w/ ice-dapter

chadice

Question

Anyone used this set up ice fishing? I have the portable Finder unit already and it works well in open water and on my boundary waters trips. I am wondering about people's expereiences using this unit on the ice. I would need to buy the optional ice-dapter arm to attach it to the portable unit, either that or rig up my own. Just wondering if it was worth trying to use this unit on the ice. Thanks in advance.

Chadice

10 answers to this question

I have been using the ice dapter for about 5 years now with my Eagle (I had the Magna II and replaced it with the fisheasy two years ago). I just had it out on Winnie this past weekend. It actually works very well. You can turn your sensitivity up really high and see your bait. It's no FL 18 but you know when the fish are coming through and you get true depth reads. Put it this way, it works well enough so that I can't quite commit to spending $239 on a Vexilar. Just don't let it get too cold or the liquid crystal will go. Hope that helps.

Thanks for the tip. I did not expect to be able to see my bait with this unit. So you turn of the fish mark id system, or whatever it is called and just go with the graph mode and that is where you adjust your sensitivity?

They should still have them at Gander. It's bascially two metal rods, one attaches to the side of teh unit and the other hangs down and has a mount for your ducer. I think it costs about 25-30. Cheaper than a Vexilar.

yes the menu arrows will give you sensitivity as an option, set it up around 60% and when you jig you will see your lure appear on the screen. If your jig is really small go higher than 60. I use it more just for depth reading and knowing if there are fish below.