• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

25 merc winding out

TNFL

When I give it full throttle it winds out and disengages similar to when you have a big clump of weeds on. I have to lower the throttle so it grabs again but it doesn't "klunk/jerk" when it grabs it just slowly goes again. I ran it with a bad prop for a while and i'm hoping that didn't damage the gears. Anyone ever have a problem like this? How did yoiu fix it? How much did it cost?

I am not a marine mechanic, but the first thing I would do is take off the prop and check the shaft at that point for any damage or fishing line caught in it. Anything that might be replicating the prop caught in weeds situaton. best part is, this won't cost you anything for your own visual inspection. If nothing is found wrong, I'd invest in a shop manual and take the lower unit apart looking for anything bent, chewed up, or out of place.

Good luck.

I think skindog has the right answer for you. It has happened to me twice, once on a 35 h.p. merc. once on my 9.9 merc. put it in gear turn on the prop, watch the center hub.

The prop and shaft have nothing on them i've take it off several times to check the shaft and the prop to see if their teeth were missing.

You two seem to be on to something. full throttle/high rpm's. How do I fix it, buy a new prop?

The splines on shaft and prop have nothing to do with a spun hub.

Propellers have a rubber "bushing" to absorbe any small impact. Easiest way to find out is to put a small paint mark on outside prop hub and inside of the hub (when you look from rear) , if hub is spun the won't match anymore.

Other causes can be motor hanging to high or tilted too much, chunks missing from prop.

If you have a stripped gear, it will be very noisy, you'll notice right away a loud grinding noise.